How to Unclog Your Mind

Adam French
3 min readSep 24, 2020

Practical Tactics for Mental Clarity and Emotional Stability

Raise your hand if you feel overwhelmed by all this 2020 bullshit!

Great, we’re on the same page.

Since I’ve been overwhelmed, I’m trying a lot of different ways to clear my mind. Here’s what’s helped:

  1. Getting in nature regularly. Bonus points for having your bare feet on the ground.

Take a hike. Go to the park. Walk down the street. Your body and mind will thank you.

2. One hour of meditation per day.

I don’t have the attention span to sit breathing slowly for an hour straight. So I split my meditation time up.

  • 10 minutes in the morning after Yoga.
  • 2–3 minutes in between shifts in the day (after chunks of work).
  • 40 minutes at night before bed.

If you’re new to meditation, try out an app like Calm.

3. At least 30 min of intense exercise every day.

Key word intense. Make yourself WORK. Over and over, intense exercise flips my day from foggy and distracted to clear and motivated.

This can be:

  • Heavy weight lifting
  • Power Yoga
  • A high-intensity jog or sprints
  • 6 minutes straight of core exercises
  • Dancing
  • Anything else you can come up with that makes you sweat and strain!

4. Media cleanses.

Social media is SUCH a great tool. I’m trying to build my personal brand and conduct research, so it’s almost impossible to stay off LinkedIn. But if the success of your business isn’t reliant on social media, try taking a break for a week. Delete all your apps.

It’s AMAZING. I’m able to live in the moment without reaching for my phone. The little “in-between” moments where I can instead be present, notice my breath, things around me, and calm my brain.

If you want to take this a step further, stop reading the news. Stop reading books — except maybe for a great fiction book ;)

5. Vent to your close circle and have them hold you accountable

Trying to build these habits? It really helps if you tell your friends about what you’re trying to do. Have them check in with you every day to ask if you’ve done your meditation/exercise/whatever.

Having people to vent to when you’re stressed is also great. Just fucking yell it all out at someone who appreciates what you’re going through :)

6. Create, Create, Create!

Creating helps process emotions. It helps empty all of the shit flying around in your brain. Writing. Music. Dance. Lego Buildings. Paper Maché. Theatre. Tik Toks (unless you’re on a media cleanse). Just create something. It’s a time tested outlet.

What are you doing to unclog your brain? Let me know in the comments :)

7. Listen to Healing Frequencies.

Ok, this is probably the most “woo” out of the options. But these sounds always leave me feeling refreshed and clear. Sometimes I have it in the background when I’m napping, other times when I meditate.

Just search up “Healing Frequencies” on Youtube/Spotify/etc and select one that tickles your soul’s fancy.

8. Appreciate your damn life.

It’s easy to get lost in the chaos and doom-and-gloom of 2020. But if you’re reading this article, you’re likely REALLY well off.

Did you eat good food today? 3 meals? You’re blessed.

Did you have a comfortable place to live? You’re blessed.

Take 5 minutes each day to appreciate what you have.

I like to pause before each meal and thank God/Universe for giving me the feast in front of me.

I pause after yoga and meditations to show gratitude for having a quiet space to practice.

9. Love yourself

Saving the best for last. I always get caught in the trap of judging myself too harshly. It never does any good but make me stressed. So take some time each day to love yourself. Thank yourself for eating well. Or exercising. Or treating yourself to a bath and a good book. Show gratitude to the amazing body and mind you were given — you deserve that more than you realize.

That’s my little list!

My Challenge to You: Pick 3 of these, and try doing them every day for a week straight. Put them in your calendar.

Let me know if they work! I’m wishing you peace of mind, clarity, and a refreshed perspective.

Love,

Adam ❤️

--

--

Adam French

Regenerative Design + Entrepreneurship + Personal Development & Spirituality. Want to jam? Hit me up adam@interform.space